9 C
Killorglin
Friday, May 7, 2021

Killorglin

Fair Day Outside O’Gradys

Fair Day Outside O'Gradys Ref: Kt299

This interesting photo taken of Annadale Road with the Aquaduct bringing water from Farrentooreen...

This interesting photo taken of Annadale Road with the Aquaduct bringing water from Farrentooreen Lake to work the Mill wheel, circa 1930's. Note the timber banded wheels on the donkey carts. Ref: Kt298

The Laune Pipe Band march by J.Murphy’s Bar (Sheahans) The Square, Killorglin, circa 1950’s

The Laune Pipe Band march by J.Murphy's Bar (Sheahans) The Square, Killorglin, circa 1950's. Ref: Kt297

This interesting photo was taken from the Ferris Wheel at Bird’s Bizarre which shows...

This interesting photo was taken from the Ferris Wheel at Bird's Bizarre which shows the buildings between the Fairfield and Upper Bridge Street. Champs is to the left with five chimney stacks. Ref:...

St. James’ Church, Killorglin

St. James' Church, Killorglin. Ref: Kt288

A side gate to St.James’ Church. It is now the location of the Fr...

A side gate to St.James' Church. It is now the location of the Fr Tom Lawlor Bronze Bust which was unveiled in 2003. Ref: Kt289

The Grotto at St.James’ Gardens which was demolished in the 1990’s and replaced by...

The Grotto at St.James' Gardens which was demolished in the 1990's and replaced by a smaller Marion Shrine in a  safety measure to improve road visibility. It was a landmark in St.James' Gardens which...

The old Signal Box of Killorglin Railway Station which later had an extension and...

The old Signal Box of Killorglin Railway Station which later had an extension and was used as a house. It is now the site of Jacko Foley's Shop and Petrol Station on Iveragh Road....

The home of Pa and Mary Houlihan of Castleconway, 1971

The home of Pa and Mary Houlihan of Castleconway, 1971. Ref: Kt292

The old Technical School Killlorglin (The Tech) which was opened in 1936

The old Technical School Killlorglin (The Tech) which was opened in 1936. It was closed in 1983 and demolished to make way for new houses and offices. It was replaced on a new site...

A view of the Laune river with The Fishery in the background circa 1980’s....

A view of the Laune river with The Fishery in the background, circa 1980's. The two houses to the right of the photo ere demolished in the early 1990's. Ref: Kt294

A view of the Laune river with Bridie Joy’s picturesque home on the Nun’s...

A view of the Laune river with Bridie Joy's picturesque home on the Nun's Road to the right of the picture. Cloon Island is in the middle distance and Dromin is in the background....

Peace perfect peace in Ardmoneil Graveyard, Killorglin 2014

Peace perfect peace in Ardmoneil Graveyard, Killorglin 2014. Ref: Kt284

Bryan ‘Bryaneen’ O’Connor who was a well known personality in Killorglin in his day....

Bryan 'Bryaneen' O'Connor who was a well known personality in Killorglin in his day. He was the first person interred in Ardmoneil Graveyard when it opened in the summer of 1987. Ref: Kt285

Bryan ‘Bryaneen’ O’Connor’s headstone in Ardmoneil Graveyard Killorglin

Bryan 'Bryaneen' O'Connor's headstone in Ardmoneil Graveyard Killorglin. Ref: Kt286

The old bilingual road sign post with its raised lettering which were so much...

The old bilingual road sign post with its raised lettering which were so much a feature of the Country in the past. Ref: Kt287

Lower Bridge Street, mid 1920’s

Lower Bridge Street, mid 1920's. Ref: Kt281

Ardmoneil Graveyard, Killorglin 2014

Ardmoneil Graveyard, Killorglin 2014. Ref: Kt283

Caragh Lake Post Card

Caragh Lake Post Card Ref: Kt268

Killorglin Men’s Shed, The Fairfield, Killorglin

Killorglin Men's Shed opened in September 2012. The Men's Shed is a workshop where members socialise and work together on community projects in The Fairfield Killorglin. Ref: Kt269
Facebook
Twitter
YouTube